The City of Lubbock operates under a council-manager government system, led by a legislative body called a city council. Citizens elect six council members, one for each of Lubbock’s six districts, and a mayor. The council members serve for a term of four years and the mayor serves for two years. In addition, there are currently no term limits for the mayor or city council members. The city council elects a Mayor Pro Tempore who serves as mayor in absence of the elected mayor as well as a city manager to handle the ordinary business of the city.

Tray Payne, Mayor

Christy Martinez-Garcia, District 1

Shelia Patterson Harris, District 2

Mark W. McBrayer, District 3

Steve Massengale, District 4

Dr. Jennifer Wilson, District 5

Latrelle Joy, District 6